Scanner Frequencies

Meet the Staff

2014 Schedule

Latest NASCAR News and Commentary


Kyle Busch holds off Logano to win at The Brickyard
  Denies Roger Penske another Indy win
Kyle Busch held off Joey Logano through three late race restarts to win his 4th NASCAR Sprint Cup race in the last 5 at the Crown Royal presents the Jeff Kyle 400 at the Brickyard. Kevin Harvick was third with Martin Truex Jr. and Denny Hamlin rounded out the top-5. Busch came back from a serious injury in the Daytona 500 to make a late run at getting in The Chase by winning on every kind of race track. Busch and Toyota had never won at Indy.
Edwards wins Coors Light Pole at Indy
  NASCAR at the Brickyard
If Toyota and Ford are to break the Chevrolet stranglehold on Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the two manufacturers took a positive step in that direction during NASCAR Sprint Cup Series time trials on Saturday. Underscoring the recent resurgence of Joe Gibbs Racing, Carl Edwards toured the 2.5-mile track in 49.056 seconds (183.464 mph) to put his No. 19 Toyota on the pole for Sunday's Crown Royal presents the Jeff Kyle 400 at The Brickyard (3:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN, IMS, SiriusXM), edging Joey Logano's Team Penske Ford (183.139 mph) by 0.087 seconds
Hamlin turns fastest lap Friday at the Brickyard
  For Crown Royal Presents the Jeff Kyle 400 at the Brickyard
In NASCAR's first practice session with the new high-drag rules package at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Denny Hamlin turned a 49.934-second lap to top opening NASCAR Sprint Cup Series practice for Sunday's Crown Royal Presents the Jeff Kyle 400 at the Brickyard.  That time was the fastest through all three practice sessions Friday. Four-time winner Jimmie Johnson ended the session in second, clocking a speed of 181.796 mph
Busch stays hot, wins 3 of 4 in Loudon
Kyle Busch won for the third time in four races on Sunday, claiming the 5-hour ENERGY 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in a race that ended under caution to give the track 12 winners in its last 12 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races.
Edwards wins pole in New Hampshire
  New sponsor, on pole
As Carl Edwards put it, "things just feel right." That was Edwards' take on the state of affairs at Joe Gibbs Racing, after he put his No. 19 Toyota on the pole for Sunday's 5-hour ENERGY 301 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway (1:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN).
Glen Wood Turns 90 With Plenty of Spring in His Step
  NASCAR Legend
On Saturday, while Ryan Blaney and the SKF-branded Ford Fusion will be busy on track at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway, folks around Stuart, Va., will gather to celebrate the 90th birthday of the team's founder, Glen Wood. Wood, a 2012 inductee into the NASCAR Hall of Fame, is like a lot of people who grew up in the hard times of the Depression, but through hard work, accomplished great things in their adult lives.
Buddy Baker and the Measure of a Man
  by Stephen Cox
I don't know Buddy Baker. I met him only once. We were introduced about ten years ago at Lingner Group Television Productions in downtown Indianapolis where I was filming an episode of Autoweek on Speedvision. Baker, a huge man who towered six inches over me, was there working on a NASCAR program. He graciously shook my hand and took the time to speak to me. He wasn't in a hurry. They say the measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do nothing for him. The last thing a NASCAR legend like Baker needed was help from a guy like me.
Kyle Busch wins Kentucky
Kyle Busch continued his hard charge toward the top 30 in points in search of a Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup berth, winning a thrilling Quaker State 400 race at Kentucky Speedway on Saturday night. Busch, who won at Sonoma Raceway two weeks ago after missing the season's first 11 races with injuries sustained at Daytona International Speedway in the XFINITY Series opener, led a race-high 163 laps en route victory.
Safety Again In The Spotlight After Daytona Crash
  by Pete McCole
Just days after a horrific crash that injured several fans at Daytona International Speedway, NASCAR officials have said they are looking at several ideas to help prevent such an occurrence in the future, while at the same time addressing the concerns of driver and teams about the unsafe speeds that directly resulted in the crash. The no. 3 Chevrolet of Austin Dillon was catapulted into the catchfence in the tri-oval just past the finish line as a pack of nearly 25 cars came to the checkered flag.
NASCAR Coke Zero 400 Sunday Press Conference
  Top-2 finishers
1st Dale Earnhardt Jr. - Chevy
Greg Ives - Earnhardt Crew Chief
2nd Jimmie Johnson - Chevy
Dale Earnhardt Jr. Wins Coke Zero 400 at Daytona
  As scary wreck after flag rips down catchfence
Dale Earnhardt Jr. scored a commanding victory in the rain-delayed Coke Zero 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Daytona International Speedway by leading 96 of 161 laps in his No. 88 Nationwide Stars and Stripes Chevrolet SS enroute to his 25th Cup career victory.  It was his second win of the season, and vaulted him to second place in the point standings.
Kalitta, Beckman, Anderson, Stoffer Win at Norwalk
  by Pete McCole
2012 NHRA Funny Car World Champion "Fast" Jack Beckman took down all three drivers in the powerhouse John Force Racing stable to collect his third Wally of the season and push him closer to the top of the points standings in Sunday's 51st annual Summit Racing Equipment Nationals at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio. Doug Kalitta (Top Fuel), Greg Anderson (Pro Stock) and Karen Stoffer (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also made their way into the Winner's Circle in Sunday's final eliminations.

Article Archives