IndyCar Links

2017 Teams

2017 Schedule

2016 IC Rule Book

2015 IC Engine Rules

2015 IC Aero Rules

2014 Indy Lights Rules

2014 Pro Mazda Rules

2014 USF2000 Rules

2014 Drug Policy

2014 Scanner Freq

Race Car Comparison

Lap Time Comparison

History CART/IRL Split

2016 Final Standings
After Sonoma
Rank Driver Points

1. Pagenaud, Simon 532
2. Power, Will 504
3. Castroneves, Helio 502
4. Newgarden, Josef 484
5. Rahal, Graham 477
6. Dixon, Scott 461
7. Kanaan, Tony 433
8. Montoya, Juan Pablo 433
9. Kimball, Charlie 432
10. Munoz, Carlos 430
11. Rossi, Alexander (R) 428
12. Hunter-Reay, Ryan 416
13. Hinchcliffe, James 404
14. Bourdais, Sebastien 347
15. Aleshin, Mikhail 339
16. Andretti, Marco 320
17. Sato, Takuma 313
18. Daly, Conor (R) 267
19. Chilton, Max (R) 229
20. Hawksworth, Jack 165
21. Pigot, Spencer (R) 121
22. Chaves, Gabby 84
23. Hildebrand, JR 72
24. Servia, Oriol 67
25. Carpenter, Ed 61
26. Filippi, Luca 55
27. Enerson, RC (R) 55
28. Bell, Townsend 46
29. Mann, Pippa 37
30. Brabham, Matt (R) 35
31. Tagliani, Alex 22
32. Karam, Sage 21
33. Clauson, Bryan 14
34. Wilson, Stefan (R) 12
35. Lazier, Buddy 659

Chevy 1814
Honda 1710
Latest IndyCar News and Commentary

INDYCAR unveils new images of redesigned car
  2018 Verizon IndyCar Series design

The design of the car to be used in Verizon IndyCar Series competition in 2018 is coming more into focus. INDYCAR, sanctioning body for the premier North American open-wheel racing series, released new images today of the universal aerodynamic bodywork kit that will be used by all competitors in 2018. Following along with this year's INDYCAR theme of "NEXT," the computer-generated images are the next evolution of the car's development process and provide more detail than concept sketches released in January.

St. Petersburg Postscript
  by Brian Carroccio
Allow me to briefly go back in time. It was nearly two years on the final weekend of March that the Verizon IndyCar Series rolled into St. Petersburg for the 2015 season opener. You might remember that year’s race as being a long time coming as the 2014-2015 off-season was the first and thankfully the second-to-last of Mark Miles’ MUST END THE SEASON BY LABOR DAY EDICT. That year’s race also saw the debut of the long awaited on-again, off-again, and finally back on-again body kits. And it’s safe to say: it was a less than glorious debut.
Bourdais last to first in St. Petersburg
  David slays Goliath

Starting dead last, Sebastien Bourdais benefited from smart pit strategy from team owner Dale Coyne, then drove the wheels off his Honda to pull away from Penske Chevy driver Simon Pagenaud to win the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg in front of a big sun drenched Florida crowd. It was a day when David (Dale Coyne Racing) slayed Goliath (Mighty Penske Team). Scott Dixon came home third for Ganassi Racing with Ryan Hunter-Reay and Takuma Sato giving Honda 4 of the top 5 positions.

St Petersburg GP Post Qualifying Press Conference
  Top-6 Qualifiers
Top 6 qualifiers for the 2017 St. Petersburg GP IndyCar race
Will Power
Scott Dixon
James Hinchcliffe
Josef Newgarden
Takuma Sato
Tony Kanaan
Will Power wins pole for St. Petersburg GP
  7 out of last 8 times

We now know the Chevys were sandbagging during practice. Practice was dominated by Honda cars but when it came to qualifying Chevy driver Will Power won the pole for the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. Power has won the pole here 7 out of the last 8 years earning him the King of St. Pete. Scott Dixon led 2 of the 3 practice sessions on Friday and Saturday morning, and then in qualifying he led two qualifying sessions he was in - Round 1, Round 2 but in the Fast Six Will Power nipped him for fast time.


IndyCar St. Petersburg GP Friday Press Conferences
  Fastest 2-drivers Plus Manufacturers Announcement

Scott Dixon - Ganassi Honda
Will Power - Penske Chevy
Jay Frye - IndyCar
Mark Kent - Chevy
Art St. Cyr - Honda
Lisa Boggs - Firestone
Stefano di Ponti - Dallara

Q&A with Simon Pagenaud
  IndyCar champion ready for season to start
"It's back to business now. I'm quite excited about it. I'm very, very enthused about what's about to happen in St. Petersburg and the rest of the year. The team, the No. 1 car now, is the exact same team as last year. We expect to unlock even more potential, which gets me very excited. I'm excited to run No. 1. It's a testament to a great previous year. It's also a testament and a thank you to our partners at Team Penske. They've followed us into this adventure. They've wanted to be our partners. We won the championship together. It's a way to say thanks to them. Here we are the defending champions."
Pagenaud Ready to Defend title starting at St. Pete
  Champion will carry No. 1 on his Team Penske IndyCar Chevrolet

Simon Pagenaud raises his wine glass to toast the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series championship crew, and his brief remarks during a recent gathering at a favorite French restaurant connect cohesion, commonality, and consistency. Pagenaud, who was undaunted in racing to his maiden open-wheel championship, is thankful for the efforts, of course, in addition to prospects of further corporate accomplishments during the 2017 season that kicks off March 12 with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

So You Want To Drive The Indy 500?
  by Stephen Cox

We've suspected this for many years and now it's official. The Indianapolis 500 is no longer a reasonable aspiration for most racing drivers. Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) president Doug Boles was kind enough to talk with me briefly at the annual PRI trade show in Indy. I asked him what his plan was to increase the number of entries at the Indianapolis 500. His answer took me by surprise.

New Zealand race tracks and legends
  by Lucille Dust

No vacation of mine is complete without visiting a race track or two, even in the gorgeous countryside of Auckland, New Zealand.  And there are many tracks outside Auckland that have had many racing legends race on them.  The youngest of those legendary drivers, IndyCars' own Scott Dixon, started his racing career at the tender age of 13 in this area.  While there his Mother, Glenys Dixon, took me to the local race tracks to show me where Scott started his open wheel career.

Q&A with Jay Frye and Ricardo Juncos
  New Indy 500 team announced
Welcome to the INDYCAR media teleconference. Today's guests are Ricardo Juncos, the founder and team principal of Juncos Racing, and Jay Frye, the president of competition and operations for INDYCAR. Juncos Racing is a championship-winning team in the Mazda Road to Indy presented by Cooper Tires, which is the developmental ladder system sanctioned by INDYCAR. On Tuesday, the team announced it would enter the 101st running of the Indy 500, Presented by PennGrade Motor Oil, which will make its first venture into the Verizon IndyCar Series.
Hot topics in F1, IndyCar and NASCAR
  by Brian Carroccio

With the Advance Auto Parts Clash this weekend, the Daytona 500 the following weekend, and a host of other series starting in the coming weeks, the 2017 racing season is upon us. Below, I tackle a few of the major topics in the world of racing, as the new season approaches. Enjoy!

Article Archives