for your iPhone
for your iPad

Dakar Rally Stage 5 - Tacna back to Arequipa

Loeb secures stage five victory
Friday, January 11, 2019


Sebastien Loeb takes Stage 5
Sebastien Loeb takes Stage 5

The stage five of Dakar Rally returned to Arequipa with 197km of liaison followed by 517km of racing. The rally teams went all out for stage 5 shaking up the rankings as Loeb puts in an impressive lead over Al-Attiyah and KTM continues to dominate the bikes.

Here’s all you need to know:

-In the car category, as the teams raced from Tacna to Arequipa, Sebastien Loeb's (Red Bull Privateer - Ph-Sport) had a dream run today nabbing the stage victory and putting a 10min lead on overall leader Nasser Al-Attiyah (Toyota Gazoo Racing SA), ahead of Nani Roma (X-Raid Team) and Stéphane Peterhansel (X-Raid Mini JCW Team) who secured third and fourth respectively.

-Loeb recovered from a disastrous two days to have a dream run in a push for the stage win. The Frenchman revealed: “It was a very good day for me. We pushed really hard from the start to the end of the stage, with no mistakes, no punctures, nothing. We had a perfect day. We’ll see where we are [in the standings. The road-book was correct today, so we didn’t make any mistakes and it was good”.

-Peterhansel lost more than 5 minutes at the 478km mark of stage five, resulting in a 26 minute lead for Nasser Al-Attiyah in the overall standings.

-In the bike category, the teams raced from Monquegua to Arequipa with Sam Sunderland fought a strong battle to victory, ahead of Xavier De Soultrait (Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team), while fellow KTM teammate and defending champion Matthias Walkner persevered through a suspected ankle injury to nab third, trailing only 3.5 minutes off the pace.

-Sunderland revealed: "It’s day five - we have a long way to go. It’s been really tough, really difficult. If the first five days are anything to go by then, sure, there will be a lot more chaos to come”

The Dakar Rally today reached the halfway point with the dispute of the fifth stage. The second part of the marathon stage proved to be a particularly tactical affair with riders seeking to secure favorable attacking positions for the coming days. Ricky Brabec still holds the top spot in the general standings and Benavides is well-positioned to tackle the second part of the rally.

-In the quad category, the teams also raced from Monquegua with Nicolas Cavigliasso (Drag'on Rally Team) taking a comfortable lead over Jeremias Gonzalez Ferioli (Ferioli Racing Team) and Gustavo Gallego (Gustavo Gallego Competicion), third.

- In the Truck category, the teams raced from Tacna to Arequipa, as the Kamaz Masters continued to show their dominance. Eduard Nikolaev took another stage victory crossing into Arequipa in just under 6 hours with teammate Dmitry Sotnikov trailing by only 3minutes. Siarhei Viazovich of Maz-Sportaut took a comfortable third while Andrey Karginov (Kamaz Master) placed fourth conceding just under 12 minutes off the pace.

Tomorrow, the rally is granted a much needed rest day in Arequipa as drivers regroup and prepare for the next stage of racing on Sunday, where the rally continues to San Juan de Marcona.

Bikes Top-10

114Sam SunderlandRed Bull Ktm Factory Team04H 11' 48''+0.000S
218Xavier De SoultraitYamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team04H 15' 11''+ 00H 03' 23''
363Lorenzo SantolinoSherco Tvs Rally Factory04H 15' 48''+ 00H 04' 00''
44Adrien Van BeverenYamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team04H 16' 14''+ 00H 04' 26''
529Andrew ShortRockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing04H 16' 24''+ 00H 04' 36''
677Luciano BenavidesRed Bull Ktm Factory Team04H 16' 24''+ 00H 04' 36''
711Stefan SvitkoSlovnaft Team04H 16' 53''+ 00H 05' 05''
83Toby PriceRed Bull Ktm Factory Team04H 17' 33''+ 00H 05' 45''
973Skyler HowesKlymciw Racing04H 17' 48''+ 00H 06' 00''
101Matthias WalknerRed Bull Ktm Factory Team04H 18' 20''+ 00H 06' 32''

Cars Top-10

1306Sebastien Loeb/ Daniel ElenaPh-Sport04H 56' 34''+0.000S
2301Nasser Al-Attiyah/ Matthieu BaumelToyota Gazoo Racing Sa05H 06' 56''+ 00H 10' 22''
3307Nani Roma/ Alex Haro BravoX-Raid Team05H 20' 38''+ 00H 24' 04''
4304Stephane Peterhansel/ David CasteraX-Raid Mini Jcw Team05H 22' 43''+ 00H 26' 09''
5303Jakub Przygonski/ Tom ColsoulOrlen X-Raid Team05H 22' 51''+ 00H 26' 17''
6308Cyril Despres/ Jean Paul CottretX-Raid Mini Jcw Team05H 29' 12''+ 00H 32' 38''
7312Harry Hunt/ Wouter RosegaarPh-Sport05H 29' 14''+ 00H 32' 40''
8305Martin Prokop/ Jan TomanekMp-Sports05H 33' 02''+ 00H 36' 28''
9302Giniel De Villiers/ Dirk Von ZitzewitzToyota Gazoo Racing Sa05H 34' 29''+ 00H 37' 55''
10309Bernhard Ten Brinke/ Xavier PanseriToyota Gazoo Racing Sa05H 39' 05''+ 00H 42' 31''

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article