for your iPhone
for your iPad

NHRA Links
 2014 Schedule
2012 Tickets
2012 Results
2012 Full Throttle points 

NHRA Point Standings
Through Charlotte

Pos. Driver Points

1 Tony Schumacher 2170
2 Spencer Massey 2160
3 Shawn Langdon 2151
4 Antron Brown 2142
5 Doug Kalitta 2105
6 Morgan Lucas 2099
7 Brandon Bernstein 2095
8 Steve Torrence 2093
9 Bob Vandergriff Jr. 2053
10 Dave Grubnic 2043
11 Clay Millican 718
12 Khalid Albalooshi 698
13 Terry McMillen 587
14 Hillary Will 316
15 Cory McClenathan 279
Funny Car
Pos. Driver Points

1 Ron Capps 2230
2 Mike Neff 2157
3 Jack Beckman 2152
4 Robert Hight 2113
5 Cruz Pedregon 2087
6 Johnny Gray 2081
7 Courtney Force 2074
8 John Force 2072
9 Jeff Arend 2064
9 Tim Wilkerson 2064
11 Matt Hagan 885
12 Bob Tasca III 833
13 Alexis De Joria 687
14 Tony Pedregon 524
15 Bob Bode 388
Pro Stock
Pos. Driver Points

1 Allen Johnson 2209
2 Jason Line 2206
3 Vincent Nobile 2138
4 Greg Anderson 2107
5 Mike Edwards 2094
5 Erica Enders 2094
7 Ron Krisher 2063
8 Larry Morgan 2062
9 V. Gaines 2052
10 Jeg Coughlin 2031
11 Shane Gray 684
12 Ronnie Humphrey 625
13 Rodger Brogdon 575
14 Kurt Johnson 544
15 Warren Johnson 491
Pro Stock Motorcycle
Pos. Driver Points

1 Ed Krawiec 2215
2 Andrew Hines 2205
3 Hector Arana Jr 2151
4 Hector Arana 2139
5 Scott Pollacheck 2092
6 Karen Stoffer 2083
7 Paul Ray Jr 2074
8 Shawn Gann 2062
9 Louis Tonglet 2061
10 Matt Smith 2054
Langdon, Hagan, Edwards, Ray Top Summernationals

by Pete McCole
Monday, June 03, 2013


Mike Edwards swept Pro Stock
Rhonda McCole/
Shawn Langdon came home with his second straight victory in Top Fuel, while Michael Ray collected his first win of the season as the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series wrapped up Sunday’s eliminations at the 44th Annual Toyota NHRA Summernationals at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park.

Mike Edwards completed a weekend sweep in Pro Stock, taking the win and top qualifier honors, as did Matt Hagan, who did the same in the Funny Car division. 

In a Top Fuel final that featured an all Al-Anabi Racing showdown, Langdon defeated his teammate Khalid Khalid alBalooshi to pick up his third win of the season and fourth of his career and take over the lead in the Top Fuel standings.

Rhonda McCole/
Coming into Sunday’s eliminations after qualifying in eighth place, Langdon went on to post the quickest time in each round, taking out T.J. Zizzo, top qualifier Clay Millican and Spencer Massey before moving up for his first career final-round meeting against alBalooshi

In the third-ever all Al-Anabi final round, Langdon was first off the line and never trailed, going 3.853 seconds at 316.38 mph over alBalooshi, who went 3.869 seconds at 297.29 mph in his first final round of the season.

“From the first round to the final, we’ve made some really strong runs,” said Langdon. “The run wasn’t quite as fast as we were wanting it to be. But the first Al-Anabi Racing team final between alBalooshi and me is a great way to end it.”

With the victory, Langdon jumps from second to first in the points standings by four points over Tony Schumacher, who fell in the semi-final against alBalooshi.

The points lead also changed hands in the Funny Car division with another teammate vs. teammate final, where Matt Hagan scored a weekend sweep with a victory over defending series champion and Don Schumacher Racing teammate “Fast” Jack Beckman in the final round.

Hagan came in as the top qualifier on Sunday and faced some tough competition on his way to the final round. After defeating youngster Blake Alexander in the opening round, Hagan needed a holeshot to beat out points leader and fellow DSR teammate Johnny Gray and then just barely escaped a semi-final matchup against Tim Wilkerson after both cars started losing cylinders, allowing Hagan to slip by to advance to the finals.

At the start of the money round, Beckman was off the line first by Hagan quickly made up the difference, going 4.112 seconds at 308.00 mph to hold off Beckman’s 4.182 second pass at 303.98 mph.

Hagan’s victory over Gray allowed him to jump from third to first in the standings and now leads Gray by 44 points.

“The matchup with Johnny (Gray), that's pressure,” Hagan said. “He was the points leader, won three races this season. It's been a big battle between me, Johnny and Cruz (Pedregon). It's just a dogfight out here. It felt like someone handed me the ball and we got to slam dunk it.

“Even though Johnny (Gray) and Jack (Beckman) are teammates you get to poke them in the chest a little bit. It's bragging rights. They have the same stuff we do. (Crew chief) Dickie Venables is the kind of guy to step up and not be afraid to be too aggressive.”

In Pro Stock, Mike Edwards defeated defending series champion Allen Johnson to complete the weekend sweep and cap what has been one of the most dominating performances of his career.

Edwards posted the quickest time of every round in all four qualifying sessions to secure the no. 1 qualifier, then went onto post the quickest pass in all four rounds of eliminations, beating out Lee Zane, Rodger Brogdon and Jason Line to advance to face Johnson in their seventh final-round matchup together.

At the start, both hit almost identical lights to leave the line side by side, but Edwards managed to power past, going 6.589 seconds at 210.21 mph over Johnson’s 6.641 at 209.95 to collect his third win of the season and 37th of his career , and increase his points lead to 152 points over Jeg Coughlin.

“The whole weekend was phenomenal,” said Edwards. “I think we’ve saved the best for last. Hats off to all my guys. It feels good to run good and win. Hopefully, we just keep it up.”

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Michael Ray secured his first victory of the season and second of his career with a holeshot victory over Hector Arana, Sr.

With both riders coming into their first final round of the season, Ray hit a nearly perfect .008 light to get the jump on Arana and that was all he needed, as he barely edged the 2009 series champion with a run of 6.954 seconds at 193.49 mph over Arana Sr., who ran at 6.952 seconds at 191.02 mph for his second-straight runner-up finish at Englishtown. Pete McCole reporting

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article