for your iPhone
for your iPad

da Costa wins Formula E race in Marrakesh

Holds off Andretti BMW's Guenther
Saturday, February 29, 2020


da Costa grabs lead at start
da Costa led all the way

Poleman and DS Techeetah driver Antonio Felix da Costa led the way into the 2020 Marrakesh E-Prix, followed closely by the man who replaced him at BMW i Andretti Motorsport Max Guenther in second and Mercedes-Benz EQ's Nyck de Vries in third.

Starting from 11th, reigning champion and DS Techeetah driver Jean-Eric Vergne moved up the order to seventh, desperate to kick start his third championship title campaign. At the same time, Mercedes' Nyck de Vries dropped from third to the back while serving a drive-through penalty for being overpowered while regenerating energy.

Moving into third, TAG Heuer Porsche's Andre Lotterer moved up into third with 28 minutes left on the clock. With Da Costa still leading the way, Guenther followed close behind in second.

Still climbing up the order, Vergne moved into third, slipping past his former teammate Andre Lotterer who moved down into fourth. Despite missing the first Practice session, the reigning champion was in a potentially facing a podium finish after starting outside the top ten.

Battling hard for the lead, BMW's Max Guenther and da Costa once again found themselves engaged in close-combat, wheel-to-wheel racing. Reminiscent of the race in Santiago only a few weeks before, the pair went side by side through the turn 11.

With 19 minutes remaining, Guenther slipped into the lead before da Costa went through the ATTACK MODE activation zone, reclaiming his lead with the added 35kW.

Further down the order, Rokit Venturi Racing's Edoardo Mortara and Porsche's Andre Lotterer battled for fourth and fifth, both in ATTACK MODE.

2nd place for the Andretti BMW team
2nd place for the Andretti BMW team

Still climbing his way up the order, Vergne (in third) went for Guenther (in second), taking the German driver on the inside of Turn 1 and moving into second behind his teammate da Costa with six minutes and one lap left of the race. Gunther, now down in third sat ahead of Lotterer in fourth, while the two German drivers jostled for a place on the podium.

Despite starting from the back of the grid, Panasonic Jaguar Racing driver and championship leader Mitch Evans had managed to climb 18 places by the final moments of the race. The Kiwi driver failed to set a time in Qualifying but more than made up for the rough start with a sensational, clean drive through the pack.

With the two DS Techeetah's up front, Vergne fended off a number of attacks from Guenther in third, costing him precious energy, before letting the BMW driver past. Still well ahead, da Costa took the checkered flag, claiming DS Techeetah's debut win in the 2019/20 season. Despite being depleted of all energy, Guenther made it over the line in second with Vergne close on his tail in third.


From left Guenter, Da Costa and Vergne
From left Guenter, Da Costa and Vergne
"The win today was down to the team. They gave me an amazing car and we are working together to improve. The race was actually much harder than it looked. I had to be very brave and clever when making any moves. At one point, I had to let Max get really close and push him into using extra energy, while with the second ATTACK MODE I was preventing Andre from getting within touching distance. In the end it worked out perfectly! We planned the race very well and all the work back in Paris paid off. Hats off to JEV today who, despite having a tough week, pulled through with a podium finish for the team."

"Fighting against both DS TECHEETAH cars today was intense. We managed the race quite well and it got very exciting when JEV overtook me towards the end. We knew we could eventually make a move, as I had an energy advantage over him. But he was defending hard, which was fair play. I think that what JEV did today is impressive. I had more energy compared to him and this made the difference in the final few corners. Also, Antonio was clever in keeping the lead, so congratulations to him!"

"It was the hardest race of my entire career here at Formula E. Despite not being able to take part in practice yesterday, I had been watching everyone from hospital. I was still not feeling well today, but the team did an excellent job. During the race I just put my head down and gave it my all. When my engineer told me midway through the race that I was in fourth, I could not believe it. I had a good fight with Max near the end… but I was sure he was going to overtake me eventually. I tried to defend second place as much as I could, however I did not have the energy left in the car. I am pleased to be back on the podium."


1113Antonio Felix Da CostaDs Techeetah+0.000s
2228Maximilian GuentherBMW i Andretti Motorsport+11.427
31125Jean-Eric VergneDs Techeetah+12.034
4623Sebastien BuemiNissan E.Dams+12.282
5548Edoardo MortaraRokit Venturi Racing+15.657
62420Mitch EvansPanasonic Jaguar Racing+16.335
71311Lucas Di GrassiAudi Sport Abt Schaeffler+18.706
8336Andre LottererTag Heuer Porsche Formula E Team+19.498
9922Oliver RowlandNissan E.Dams+20.126
10142Sam BirdEnvision Virgin Racing+20.295
11417Nyck De VriesMercedes-Benz Eq Formula E Team+20.557
12224Robin FrijnsEnvision Virgin Racing+22.373
13764Jerome D'AmbrosioMahindra Racing+22.785
141866Daniel AbtAudi Sport Abt Schaeffler+25.080
15175Stoffel VandoorneMercedes-Benz Eq Formula E Team+25.969
161051James CaladoPanasonic Jaguar Racing+26.528
172019Felipe MassaRokit Venturi Racing+27.486
182318Neel JaniTag Heuer Porsche Formula E Team+44.476
19126Brendon HartleyGeox Dragon+49.002
20167Nico MuellerGeox Dragon+53.075
21193Oliver TurveyNio 333 Fe Team+59.969
221594Pascal WehrleinMahindra Racing +1:13.414s
232133Qinghua MaNio 333 Fe Team+1 lap
DNF827Alexander SimsBMW i Andretti Motorsport+33 laps

Driver Standings

1Antonio Felix da Costa67
2Mitch Evans56
3Alexander Sims46
4Maximilian Guenther44
5Lucas di Grassi38
6Stoffel Vandoorne38
7Edoardo Mortara32
8Jean-Eric Vergne31
9Oliver Rowland30
10Sam Bird29
11Sebastien Buemi27
12Andre Lotterer25
13Nyck de Vries18
14Pascal Wehrlein14
15Robin Frijns10
16James Calado10
17Daniel Abt8
18Jerome d'Ambrosio3
19Felipe Massa2
20Brendon Hartley2
21Oliver Turvey0
22Nico Muller0
23Neel Jani0
24Ma Qinghua0


Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article