for your iPhone
for your iPad

Sainz Sr. takes Dakar lead on Day 3

American Brabec wins in Bike category
Wednesday, January 8, 2020


Carlos Sainz Sr
Carlos Sainz Sr
#305 Mini driver Carlos Sainz Sr has taken the lead of the 2020 Dakar Rally after topping the third stage on Tuesday over the 265-mile loop around Neom . 

His final winning margin on the day was three minutes and 31 seconds over reigning champion Nasser Al-Attiyah, and he heads the Toyota driver by five minutes in the overall classification.

Ricky Brabec wanted to make a statement of intent on the loop around Neom and rose to the challenge seamlessly. Despite tricky terrain and difficult navigation, the American methodically left his rivals in his wake to triumph with a big lead over the rest of the pack, allowing him to take command of the rally.

In the quad race, Giovanni Enrico finally put an end to the supremacy of Ignacio Casale and picked up his first stage victory. The contest was also close in the SSV race, which was today won by Gerard Farres thanks to a fine finish in the last few kilometers. Andrey Karginov did not give a sniff of a chance to Siarhei Viazovich for stage victory and is now putting pressure on his Byelorussian rival in the general standings.

Car - Stage 3 Top-10

1Carlos Sainz Sr.Bahrain JCW X-Raid TeamMini/BMW3h48m01.s
2Jakub PrzygonskiOrlen X-Raid TeamMini/BMW4m19.s
3Yasir SaeidanRace World TeamMini/BMW5m28.s
4Fernando AlonsoToyota Gazoo RacingToyota6m14.s
5Nasser Al-AttiyahToyota Gazoo RacingToyota6m31.s
6Yazeed Al-RajhiOverdrive ToyotaToyota7m36.s
7Stephane PeterhanselBahrain JCW X-Raid TeamMini/BMW10m26.s
8Orlando TerranovaX-Raid TeamMini/BMW12m52.s
9Giniel de VilliersToyota Gazoo RacingToyota16m21.s
10Bernhard Ten BrinkeToyota Gazoo RacingToyota16m43.s

Car- Top-10 Overall Leaders

1Carlos Sainz Sr.Bahrain JCW X-Raid TeamMini/BMW11h00m20.s
2Nasser Al-AttiyahToyota Gazoo RacingToyota7m55.s
3Orlando TerranovaX-Raid TeamMini/BMW8m09.s
4Yazeed Al-RajhiOverdrive ToyotaToyota18m58.s
5Stephane PeterhanselBahrain JCW X-Raid TeamMini/BMW19m00.s
6Mathieu SerradoriSRT RacingCentury/?20m56.s
7Giniel de VilliersToyota Gazoo RacingToyota23m42.s
8Bernhard Ten BrinkeToyota Gazoo RacingToyota33m23.s
9Martin ProkopMP SportsFord48m05.s
10Vaidotas ZalaAgrorodeoMini/BMW59m59.s

Bike/Quad Summary

Car/SSV Summary

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article