for your iPhone
for your iPad

Sims clinches first win in Saudi showdown

Andretti-BMW team gets one-two finish
Saturday, November 23, 2019


Sims grabs lead at start from pole
Sims grabs lead at start from pole

With the lights out, it was Poleman BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Alex Sims who pulled away in the lead after securing his second Pole in a row on day two of the 2019 SAUDIA Diriyah E-Prix.

Leading the way with Nissan e.dams' Sebastian Buemi in second and Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler's Lucas di Grassi in third, the British driver maintained his position up front while DS Techeetah's Antonio Felix da Costa - who moved into fourth after Mahindra Racing's Jerome d'Ambrosio retired from the race due to technical difficulties - was on the attack.

Making his way through the pack, da Costa was eager to make the podium, attacking Buemi and nudging the back of his car while sending him spinning into oncoming traffic. The Nissan driver rejoined the pack in 15th but came under investigation by the FIA.

With more than 30 minutes left on the clock, Bird was tapped by Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans going through Turn 4, before being tapped again by Mahindra Racing's Pascal Wehrlein going through Turn 5. The British driver - who clinched the win in the first race only a day before - met with the wall. With significant damage to his car, the Brit was out of the race.

After consideration by the FIA, Da Costa was handed a 10-second drive through penalty for causing the incident with Buemi, while the Nissan driver was also handed the same punishment for his re-entry into the race that was deemed unsafe.

While his teammate was already out of the race, fellow Envision driver Robin Frijns lost control of his Audi-powered car between Turn 5 and 6, hitting the wall sideways on Turn 7. Damaged and stranded in his car, the Yellow Flag was raised while his car was recovered.

Alexander Sims celebrates his first win
Alexander Sims celebrates his first win

With eight minutes left on the clock, Sims maintained his lead while , further down the pack, Jaguar's Evans was handed a 10-second drive through penalty for the collision with Bird.

Taking his ATTACK MODE, di Grassi in third temporarily lost a position before blasting back past Mercedes-Benz EQ's Stoffel Vandoorne with 35kW of extra power. Not taking the ATTACK MODE, Sims' teammate Max Guenther slipped into second as the two BMW's led the way with only minutes left on the clock. 

Stretching the lead to over three seconds with five minutes left on the clock, Guenther defended hard against di Grassi, holding the ATTACK MODE-enabled Brazilian at bay. With the added power, the Audi driver set the fastest lap on the attack against the German.

With both BMWs crossing the line in tandem, the Sims clinched his first ever race win in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship with his teammate in second and Audi's di Grassi in third.

Top-3 Quotes

"That was pretty much a dream race! We executed everything really well and we made the right decisions at the right time. Crossing that line was an amazing feeling. We keep learning so many lessons and there are many more to come in the near future. The team have put a lot of effort in and to deliver a win now… it’s really cool."

"I knew it was going to be unpredictable, but I never thought of having a podium finish today. I’m extremely happy for achieving my first podium in Formula E and with BMW i Andretti Motorsport. Also a one-two for the team is a fantastic result and big congratulations to my team-mate."

"It was the 60th race in Formula E and my 31st podium finish. I’m extremely happy. After a troubled weekend we’re back on top with this podium today. The fight for the title starts now! The team works non-stop, although we don’t have the tools now, we’re going to have them as the season wraps up. Now we need to work to be able to tackle the next phase of the season."

Race 2 Results

1Alexander SimsGBRBMW i Andretti Motorsport30 laps
2Maximilian GuntherGERBMW i Andretti Motorsport+1.383s
3Lucas di GrassiBRAAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler+2.817s
4Stoffel VandoorneBELMercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team+3.581s
5Edoardo MortaraSUIROKiT Venturi Racing+4.294s
6Oliver RowlandGBRNissan e.dams+5.475s
7Nyck de VriesNEDMercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team+7.318s
8Oliver TurveyGBRNIO 333 FE Team+16.544s
9Daniel AbtGERAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler+16.942s
10James CaladoGBRPanasonic Jaguar Racing+17.221s
11Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Techeetah+19.394s
12Brendon HartleyNZLGEOX Dragon+20.702s
13Antonio Felix da CostaPORDS Techeetah+22.634s
14Sebastien BuemiSUINissan e.dams+26.291s
15Neel JaniSUITAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team+27.493s
16Andre LottererGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team+29.046s
17Pascal WehrleinGERMahindra Racing+35.290s
18Mitch EvansNZLPanasonic Jaguar Racing+37.105s
19Ma QinghuaCHNNIO 333 FE Team+45.758s
20Felipe MassaBRAROKiT Venturi Racing+64.165s
DNSJerome d'AmbrosioBELMahindra RacingDNS
RetNico MullerSUIGEOX DragonDNF
RetRobin FrijnsNEDEnvision Virgin RacingDNF
RetSam BirdGBREnvision Virgin RacingDNF

Driver Standings

Alexander SimsBMW i Andretti Motorsport35
Stoffel VandoorneMercedes-Benz EQ27
Sam BirdEnvision Virgin Racing26
Oliver RowlandNissan e.dams20
Andre LottererTAG Heuer Porsche18
Maximilian GuentherBMW i Andretti Motorsport18
Lucas di GrassiAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler16
Edoardo MortaraROKiT Venturi Racing16
Nyck de VriesMercedes-Benz EQ14
Robin FrijnsEnvision Virgin Racing10
Oliver TurveyNIO 3334
Jerome D’AmbrosioMahindra Racing2
Daniel AbtAudi Sport ABT Schaeffler2
Mitch EvansPanasonic Jaguar Racing2
James CaladoPanasonic Jaguar Racing1
Antonio Felix da CostaDS TECHEETAH1
Pascal WehrleinMahindra Racing0
Jean-Eric VergneDS TECHEETAH0
Brendon HartleyGEOX DRAGON0
Felipe MassaROKiT Venturi Racing0
Sebastien BuemiNissan e.dams0
Neel Jani TAG Heuer Porsche0
Ma Qing HuaNIO 3330
Nico MuellerGEOX DRAGON0

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article