for your iPhone
for your iPad

Dakar Rally Stage 8 - San Juan de Marcona to Pisco

Al-Attiyah extends lead while Price pushes through pain
Tuesday, January 15, 2019


Toby Price
Toby Price

The Dakar Rally continued to throw up surprises on Stage 8 as many heavyweights on the leaderboard struggled in 40°C heat on the sand dunes of the 360km special stage to Pisco. Here is all you need to know:

- Peugeot privateer Sebastien Loeb catapulted his way up the rankings in the car category after a supreme show of strength saw the Frenchman win his fourth stage of 2019. Carlos Sainz had looked on his way for the win but suffered as the route entered the dunes, as did fellow Mini drivers Stéphane Peterhansel and Cyril Despres.

- Peterhansel lost 24 minutes to a flawless Nasser Al-Attiyah in the Toyota with the Qatari now holding a commanding 46-minute lead over Nani Roma and Loeb with just two stages remaining. Peterhansel is 53-minutes behind.

- Al-Attiyah said: “I am quite happy! We never got stuck and kept a good pace all day. There are still two days left and we try to keep going like this. We work day by day.”

- Ricky Brabec set off from San Juan de Marcona in the lead as he pushed to become the first American to win the race. However, the Honda rider suffered heartbreak after only 56km as his engine gave way, bringing an end to his hopes.

Al-Attiyah extends his lead
Al-Attiyah extends his lead

- The KTM trio of Sam Sunderland, Toby Price and Matthias Walkner as well as Husqvarna rider Pablo Quintanilla took full advantage. Defending champion Walkner has been battling an ankle injury all race but chased down teammate Price, himself suffering from severe wrist pain, in the final moments to clinch a second stage win.

- Price was leading for 300km of the special and his speed was enough to take the overall lead as he bids to reclaim the title he first won in 2016. Quintanilla is just one minute behind, with Walkner now third a further five minutes back.

- Price said: “That was my maximum today, I couldn’t go any more. The wrist is on fire now. It is difficult with the wrist, you just try to blank it out. I will try to do it all again!”

- Russian Eduard Nikolaev was in cruise control at the start of the day but lost nearly an hour after having to dig his Kamaz truck out of the sand. Compatriot Dmitry Sotnikov won the stage, and more importantly, now leads the race.

- Nicolas Cavigliasso is a man on a mission. The Argentine is relentless in his pursuit of victory, cruising to a seventh stage victory out of eight. His closest challenger is nearly 90 minutes behind him in the rankings.

- In the SxS race Chilean Francisco Lopez Contardo continued his fine form to seal a third win in a row and open up a gap at the top of the standings.

- Tomorrow is the penultimate stage of the race and only the second mass start of the rally. The route takes a loop around Pisco and entails a 96km liaison and 313km special.

Top-10 Overall Bikes

13Toby PriceRed Bull Ktm Factory Team28H 53' 08''+ 0.000S
26Pablo QuintanillaRockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory28H 54' 11''+ 00H 01' 03''
31Matthias WalknerRed Bull Ktm Factory Team28H 59' 43''+ 00H 06' 35''
414Sam SunderlandRed Bull Ktm Factory Team28H 59' 46''+ 00H 06' 38''
54Adrien Van BeverenYamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team29H 03' 02''+ 00H 09' 54''
629Andrew ShortRockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory29H 32' 35''+ 00H 39' 27''
718Xavier De SoultraitYamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team29H 39' 25''+ 00H 46' 17''
877Luciano BenavidesRed Bull Ktm Factory Team29H 57' 32''+ 01H 04' 24''
910Jose Ignacio Cornejo FlorimoMonster Energy Honda Team 201929H 58' 52''+ 01H 05' 44''
107Oriol MenaHero Motosports Team Rally30H 42' 59''+ 01H 49' 51''

Top-10 Overall Cars

1301Nasser Al-Attiyah/ Matthieu BaumelToyota Gazoo Racing Sa29H 15' 50''+ 0.000S
2307Nani Roma/ Alex Haro BravoX-Raid Team30H 02' 19''+ 00H 46' 29''
3306Sebastien Loeb/ Daniel ElenaPuegeot Ph-Sport30H 02' 35''+ 00H 46' 45''
4304Stephane Peterhansel/ David CasteraX-Raid Mini Jcw Team30H 09' 20''+ 00H 53' 30''
5308Cyril Despres/ Jean Paul CottretX-Raid Mini Jcw Team31H 31' 17''+ 02H 15' 27''
6303Jakub Przygonski/ Tom ColsoulOrlen X-Raid Team31H 35' 40''+ 02H 19' 50''
7305Martin Prokop/ Jan TomanekMp-Sports32H 11' 57''+ 02H 56' 07''
8314Yazeed Al Rajhi/ Timo GottschalkX-Raid Team33H 10' 47''+ 03H 54' 57''
9300Carlos Sainz/ Lucas CruzX-Raid Mini Jcw Team35H 58' 05''+ 06H 42' 15''
10302Giniel De Villiers/ Dirk Von ZitzewitzToyota Gazoo Racing Sa36H 16' 51''+ 07H 01' 01''

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article