for your iPhone
for your iPad

Dakar Rally Stage 3 - San Juan de Marcona to Arequipa

Dunes claim Sainz's suspension, title hopes
Wednesday, January 9, 2019


Sainz is not winning again this year
Sainz is not winning again this year

The third stage of the Dakar Rally from San Juan de Marcona to Arequipa, Peru, kicked off with a 467km liaison and a 331km special. Today's stage proved ruthless as navigational errors and foggy conditions plagued the race.


Defending champion Carlos Sainz of X-Raid Mini JCW Team suffered a blow as a navigational error led the team into a dune hole that resulted in significant suspension damage only 38km into the stage. The Spaniard's hopes were diminished in reclaiming the title, after losing almost 5 hours in repairs to the left suspension.

Stephane Peterhansel commanded the stage win for X-Raid Mini JCW Team, reaching Arequipa with a time of 03h54”32”, beating Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Nasser Al-Attiyah by 3’26’ as Jakub Przygonski Orlen X-Raid Team nabbed third. Peterhansel is in third place overall, 7’03" behind race leader Nasser Al-Attiyah.

Thirteen time Dakar champion, Peterhansel revealed: ”It was a nice stage, with tough dunes and tricky navigation: hard-to-find waypoints in the valleys. It was a quintessentially Peruvian stage and the sign of things to come in the next few days."

Nasser Al-Attiyah fought back to take the overall lead from teammate Giniel De Villiers as the pair prepare to take on tomorrows marathon stage.

Poland’s Jakub Przygońsk of Orlen X-Raid Team had a solid finish in third at the end of the third stage in Arequipa, fifth overall, and sitting less than 15 minutes behind the leaders.

Nine time World Rally champion and Red Bull privateer Sebastian Loeb, proved just how cruicial errors can be, after nabbing the second stage win yesterday, Loeb made a costly navigational error during the foggy conditions, conceding 42'55' to Stéphane Peterhansel, starting the marathon stage in eighth overall.

Loeb reveals: ”It was very foggy, but the problem was getting lost. We couldn't find our way back, so we went around in circles… and lost half an hour doing this. We lost big time, so we'll start from far back tomorrow. "

France's Cyril Despres of X-Raid Mini JCW Team also suffered navigational errors, slipping back to 6th but remianing in the Top 10.


Xavier de Soultrait (Yamaha Official Rally Team) took the stage three win with a time of 04h 07' 42'' ahead of Pablo Quintanilla (Husqvarna Factory Racing) and Kevin Benavides (Honda).

Foggy conditions continued to plague the final leg of stage three as Sam Sunderland, The 2017 champion, battled fog and navigation challenges in the third stage nabbing third place in the overall standings.

Sunderland reveals: "Definitely, it was difficult with the fog. For me, the road book was more or less good, but the problem was on the plateau, with the fog, you couldn't see. This was the issue so... You really couldn't see two/three metres in front of you. Finally, I stopped and took my goggles off and I was able to see a bit better. Yeah, a lot of chaos, after that everyone was in a group and everyone was going in front. But yeah, I'm sure we have many more days to come. This is the Dakar, it's what it's all about, tough times and up and downs, some carnage in the stage... Really, I just try to take each day as it comes, do my best, focus on my navigation and try to avoid mistakes because I think that's what's gonna make the difference in this race, as we saw today."

KTM's reigning champion Matthias Walkner also got lost in the reduced visibility, dropping to eighth place overall, 21 minutes behind the lead.


Spain’s Gerard Farres Quell took the stage win with a time of 04h 35' 58’’, ahead of Chile’s Francisco Lopez Contardo, and Russia’s Sergei Kariakin, third.


Andrey Karginov of Kamaz-Master clinched an impressive victory in Arequipa stretching the lead 12 minutes ahead of Federico Villagra. Third-placed Dmitry Sotnikov came ahead of overall leader Eduard Nikolayev, who lost 14 minutes in this stage.

Tomorrow, the marathon stage 4 begins from Arequipa to Tacna with 259km of liaison followed by 405km of racing.

Top-10 Bikes

118Xavier De SoultraitYamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team04H 07' 42''+0.000S
26Pablo QuintanillaRockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing04H 07' 57''+ 00H 00' 15''
347Kevin BenavidesMonster Energy Honda Team 201904H 10' 19''+ 00H 02' 37''
44Adrien Van BeverenYamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team04H 14' 24''+ 00H 06' 42''
514Sam SunderlandRed Bull Ktm Factory Team04H 16' 08''+ 00H 08' 26''
62Paulo GoncalvesMonster Energy Honda Team 201904H 17' 13''+ 00H 09' 31''
711Stefan SvitkoSlovnaft Team04H 18' 32''+ 00H 10' 50''
87Oriol MenaHero Motosports Team Rally04H 18' 57''+ 00H 11' 15''
93Toby PriceRed Bull Ktm Factory Team04H 21' 58''+ 00H 14' 16''
1016Michael MetgeSherco Tvs Rally Factory04H 22' 27''+ 00H 14' 45''

Top-10 Cars

1304Stephane Peterhansel/ David CasteraX-Raid Mini Jcw Team03H 54' 31''+0.000S
2301Nasser Al-Attiyah/ Matthieu BaumelToyota Gazoo Racing Sa03H 57' 57''+ 00H 03' 26''
3303Jakub Przygonski/ Tom ColsoulOrlen X-Raid Team04H 06' 18''+ 00H 11' 47''
4314Yazeed Al Rajhi/ Timo GottschalkX-Raid Team04H 07' 21''+ 00H 12' 50''
5415Dani Sola/ Pedro Lopez ChavesFn Speed Team04H 10' 03''+ 00H 15' 32''
6307Nani Roma/ Alex Haro BravoX-Raid Team04H 12' 43''+ 00H 18' 12''
7308Cyril Despres/ Jean Paul CottretX-Raid Mini Jcw Team04H 22' 35''+ 00H 28' 04''
8309Bernhard Ten Brinke/ Xavier PanseriToyota Gazoo Racing Sa04H 26' 16''+ 00H 31' 45''
9327Aron Domzala/ Maciej MartonOverdrive Toyota04H 27' 47''+ 00H 33' 16''
10305Martin Prokop/ Jan TomanekMp-Sports04H 29' 10''+ 00H 34' 39''

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article