for your iPhone
for your iPad


Scanner Frequencies

Meet the Staff

2017 Schedule

Blaney wins pole in Texas

Fords 1-2-3-4-5
Friday, November 2, 2018


Blaney gets a gun for winning the pole
Blaney gets a gun for winning the pole
Penske driver Ryan Blaney won the Pole Award for the 14th Annual AAA Texas 500 with a lap of 26.932 seconds, at a speed of 200.505 mph. Blaney led a Ford 1-2-3-4-5 and 8 of the top-10. This is the year of Ford in NASCAR and their domination continues.

Three Stewart-Haas teammates still competing in the NASCAR Playoffs followed Blaney — Clint Bowyer was second in the No. 14 (200.230 mph), Kevin Harvick was third in the No. 4 (199.941 mph) and Aric Almirola was fourth in the No. 10 (199.778 mph).

Brad Keselowski rounded out the top five in the three-round knockout qualifying for Sunday’s AAA Texas 500 (3 p.m. ET, NBCSN, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Of the remaining Round of 8 Playoff drivers, three more qualified among the top 10 — Kurt Busch was seventh in the No. 41 SHR Ford (199.225 mph), Joey Logano was eighth in the No. 22 Team Penske Ford (199.086 mph) and Kyle Busch was 10th in the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota (198.705).

Two of the playoff drivers did not advance to the final round: Martin Truex Jr., who qualified 13th in the No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota, and Chase Elliott, who qualified 16th in the No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet. Elliott enters Sunday’s race ranked sixth among the eight playoff drivers, 31 points below the cut line; Truex is third, 25 points above the cut line.

Ryan Blaney

The red flag came out briefly near the end of Round 1 when No. 38 David Ragan spun coming out of Turn 4 and through the infield grass. He had qualified 27th before the incident.

Sunday’s running of the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway will air on NBCSN and the NBC Sports App beginning at 3:00 pm ET. The green flag is expected to waive at 3:16 pm ET. The AAA Texas 500 is scheduled to go 334 laps which equals to 501 miles.

Kyle Busch is the most recent MENCS winner at Texas while Kevin Harvick went to victory lane here last fall.

Qualifying Results

112Ryan BlaneyAccella/Carlisle Ford26.932200.505
214Clint Bowyer (P)Rush Truck Centers/Mobil Delvac 1 Ford26.969200.230
34Kevin Harvick (P)Mobil 1 Ford27.008199.941
410Aric Almirola (P)Smithfield Spirals Ford27.030199.778
52Brad KeselowskiWurth Ford27.064199.527
611Denny HamlinFedEx Office Toyota27.101199.255
741Kurt Busch (P)State Water Heaters Ford27.105199.225
822Joey Logano (P)AAA Insurance Ford27.124199.086
924William Byron #Hendrick Autoguard Chevrolet27.126199.071
1018Kyle Busch (P)M&M's Toyota27.176198.705
1121Paul MenardMenards/Cardell Ford27.279197.954
1220Erik JonesSport Clips Toyota27.293197.853
1378Martin Truex Jr. (P)Bass Pro Shops/5-hour ENERGY Toyota27.278197.962
1431Ryan NewmanCaterpillar Next Gen Excavator Chevrolet27.283197.925
156Trevor BayneAdvoCare Rehydrate Ford27.312197.715
169Chase Elliott (P)Kelley Blue Book Chevrolet27.316197.686
1717Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Fastenal Ford27.329197.592
1888Alex BowmanAxalta Chevrolet27.336197.542
1919Daniel SuarezARRIS Toyota27.356197.397
201Jamie McMurraySherwin-Williams Chevrolet27.358197.383
2137Chris BuescherClorox Chevrolet27.399197.087
2242Kyle LarsonDC Solar Chevrolet27.437196.815
2348Jimmie JohnsonLowe's for Pros Chevrolet27.449196.728
2413Ty DillonGEICO Military Chevrolet27.479196.514
2547AJ AllmendingerKroger ClickList Chevrolet27.550196.007
263Austin DillonDow NORKOOL Chevrolet27.646195.327
2738David RaganEarthwater Ford27.661195.221
2895Regan SmithProcore Chevrolet27.728194.749
2934Michael McDowellLove's/Luber Finer Ford27.767194.475
3043Bubba Wallace #NASCAR Racing Experience Chevrolet27.778194.398
3132Matt DiBenedettoCan-Am/Wholey Ford28.066192.404
3200Landon Cassill(i)Brookshire's Chevrolet28.148191.843
3315Ross ChastainLow T Center Chevrolet28.228191.299
3496Parker Kligerman(i)Gaunt Brothers Racing Toyota28.256191.110
3523JJ Yeley(i)maximum elevation off-road Toyota28.381190.268
3699Kyle WeathermanStarCom Fiber Chevrolet28.538189.221
3772Corey LaJoieGas Monkey Garage Chevrolet28.598188.824
387Reed Sorenson(i)Sustainable Quarry Crypto Mining Chevrolet28.785187.598
3951Joey Gase(i)Jacob Companies/Donate Life Texas Ford29.496183.076
4097David Starr(i)Toyota29.784181.305

Failing to qualify was Timmy Hill.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article