for your iPhone
for your iPad


Purebred racing bikes
240 HP

140 HP
Production Based

55 HP
Production Based
Riders 25 years or less

Point Standings
2014 After Qatar

Will start after first race
Lorenzo takes pole with Ducati power

Sets new lap record
Saturday, September 8, 2018


Jorge Lorenzo on pole
Jorge Lorenzo on pole

Using Ducati's superior HP advantage, Jorge Lorenzo shattered his own previous Misano lap record to take pole position for MotoGP's San Marino Grand Prix.

Lorenzo improved on his 2016 record on his first flying lap, beating Marquez's previous top time - already the best of the weekend - by two-and-a-half tenths.

The duo stayed first and second until the mid-session lull and both returned to the track relatively early, beginning a fast lap with six minutes still on the clock.

However Lorenzo did not improve and then pitted.

Marquez, who was running a two-stop strategy in qualifying, then suffered a dramatic crash at Turn 15 on his second run which he almost saved on his elbow.

Marquez then sprinted back to the garage and mounted his second bike with four minutes left of the session to run.

Marquez was forced to bail out of his final lap after a moment at Turn 10 which saw him eventually drop to fifth place by the checkered flag.

Lorenzo on the other hand managed to lower his time by a further tenth as the checkered flag fell, topping the session with a best time of 1m31.629s, 0.287s ahead of Jack Miller, also on a Ducati.

More to follow......

Qualifying Results

1Jorge LorenzoDucatiDucati1m31.629s0.000s
2Jack MillerPramac DucatiDucati1m31.916s0.287s
3Maverick VinalesYamahaYamaha1m31.950s0.321s
4Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati1m32.003s0.374s
5Marc MarquezHondaHonda1m32.016s0.387s
6Cal CrutchlowLCR HondaHonda1m32.025s0.396s
7Valentino RossiYamahaYamaha1m32.028s0.399s
8Danilo PetrucciPramac DucatiDucati1m32.136s0.507s
9Johann ZarcoTech3 YamahaYamaha1m32.250s0.621s
10Alex RinsSuzukiSuzuki1m32.338s0.709s
11Dani PedrosaHondaHonda1m32.369s0.740s
12Franco MorbidelliMVDS HondaHonda1m32.454s0.825s
13Andrea IannoneSuzukiSuzuki1m32.566s0.937s
14Michele PirroDucatiDucati1m32.624s0.995s
15Alvaro BautistaAspar DucatiDucati1m32.792s1.163s
16Aleix EspargaroApriliaAprilia1m33.084s1.455s
17Bradley SmithKTMKTM1m33.085s1.456s
18Stefan BradlHondaHonda1m33.361s1.732s
19Takaaki NakagamiLCR HondaHonda1m33.437s1.808s
20Pol EspargaroKTMKTM1m33.502s1.873s
21Scott ReddingApriliaAprilia1m33.572s1.943s
22Xavier SimeonAvintia DucatiDucati1m33.705s2.076s
23Thomas LuthiMVDS HondaHonda1m33.755s2.126s
24Karel AbrahamAspar DucatiDucati1m33.812s2.183s
25Hafizh SyahrinTech3 YamahaYamaha1m34.080s2.451s
26Christophe PonssonAvintia DucatiDucati1m37.180s5.551s

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article