for your iPhone
for your iPad


Scanner Frequencies

Meet the Staff

2017 Schedule

Kurt Busch sets track record in Texas

In Texas Pole-winning effort
Friday, November 3, 2017


Kurt Busch
Kurt Busch

Kurt Busch made it two poles in a row at Texas Motor Speedway Friday with a speed of 200.915 mph in his #41 SHR Ford Fusion, a new track record.

Denny Hamlin will start 2nd in the #11 Toyota of Joe Gibbs Racing while Kevin Harvick (Ford), Erik Jones (Toyota) and Kyle Busch (Toyota) rounded out the top-5.

Denny Hamlin had trouble getting through qualifying inspection but wheeled his No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota around the wide open, reconfigured 1.5-mile track at 200.617 mph, holding the speed record and pole briefly before Busch’s run. Hamlin’s speed was good enough for the second starting spot for Sunday’s AAA Texas 500 (2 p.m. ET, NBCSN, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.)

Kevin Harvick (200.378 mph) in the No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford, Erik Jones (200.326 mph) in the No. 77 Furniture Row Racing Toyota and Kyle Busch (200.252 mph) in the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota. round out the top five in the starting lineup, respectively.

Playoffs contender Chase Elliott’s No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet failed pre-qualifying inspection, and he will start at the back of the field Sunday. Hamlin’s No. 11 and Harvick’s No. 4 were also among several cars that had trouble getting through inspection, but the No. 11 did finally pass and Hamlin was fifth-fastest in the first round of qualifying.

The other cars that did not make a qualifying lap are Matt Kenseth’s No. 20 Toyota, Joey Logano’s No. 22 Ford, Trevor Bayne’s No. 6 Ford, Reed Sorenson’s No. 15 Toyota, Corey LaJoie’s No. 23 Toyota, and Gray Gaulding’s No. 83 Toyota.

Playoffs points leader Martin Truex Jr. qualified seventh in the No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Toyota.

XFINITY Playoffs contender Daniel Hemric piloted Paul Menard’s No. 27 Chevrolet in qualifying after driving the car in practice earlier after Menard and his wife, Jennifer, welcomed their second child this week. Hemric spun his No. 21 Chevrolet in final XFINITY practice but was OK after that wreck.


141Kurt Busch26.877LEADER200.915
211Denny Hamlin26.9170.040200.617
34Kevin Harvick26.9490.072200.378
477Erik Jones26.9560.079200.326
518Kyle Busch26.9660.089200.252
619Daniel Suarez27.0550.178199.593
778Martin Truex Jr.27.0770.200199.431
821Ryan Blaney27.0840.207199.380
948Jimmie Johnson27.1730.296198.727
102Brad Keselowski27.2070.330198.478
1142Kyle Larson27.2530.376198.143
1217Ricky Stenhouse Jr.27.2620.385198.078
131Jamie McMurray27.3150.000197.694
1410Danica Patrick27.3220.000197.643
153Austin Dillon27.3370.000197.534
1647AJ Allmendinger27.3460.000197.469
1788Dale Earnhardt Jr.27.3500.000197.441
1843Aric Almirola27.3740.000197.267
195Kasey Kahne27.3970.000197.102
2014Clint Bowyer27.4770.000196.528
2127Daniel Hemric27.5200.000196.221
2234Landon Cassill27.6010.000195.645
2395Michael McDowell27.8070.000194.196
2438David Ragan27.8100.000194.175
2531Ryan Newman27.6710.000195.150
2637Chris Buescher27.7250.000194.770
2713Ty Dillon27.8460.000193.924
2832Matt DiBenedetto27.8490.000193.903
2972Cole Whitt28.1430.000191.877
307Joey Gase28.7170.000188.042
3151Ray Black II28.8610.000187.104
3233Jeffrey Earnhardt28.8760.000187.007
3366David Starr29.7040.000181.794
3424Chase Elliott0.0000.0000.000
3520Matt Kenseth0.0000.0000.000
3622Joey Logano0.0000.0000.000
376Trevor Bayne0.0000.0000.000
3815Reed Sorenson0.0000.0000.000
3923Corey LaJoie0.0000.0000.000
4083Gray Gaulding0.0000.0000.000

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article