for your iPhone
for your iPad

McLaughlin creates history with first ever win at GC600

Supercars on the streets of Surfers Paradise
Sunday, October 22, 2017


McLaughlin and Premat salute the crowd
McLaughlin and Premat salute the crowd
A perfect pit stop strategy has seen Shell V-Power Racing Team driver Scott McLaughlin sensationally win his first ever race on the streets of Surfers Paradise this afternoon and claim a memorable victory at the Vodafone Golda Coast 600.

McLaughlin and co-driver Alex Premat started from 13th position on the grid which is now the furthest back any driver has ever started from to win a race at GC600. James Courtney and Jack Perkins started from 11th in 2015.

In an intriguing twist, ahead of the final events of the season six-time champion Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s Jamie Whincup finished second today and assumed the Championship lead for the first time this year.

“It’s all good. Happy with the result, but hey pace and being a bit more aggressive on strategy, yeah they deserve the win,” Whincup said.

It will now be an intense five-driver fight with four races remaining with Whincup 17 points in front of McLaughlin’s Shell V-Power team-mate Fabian Coulthard, who fought back from a poor qualifying performance to finish ninth.

McLaughlin is just 27 points behind Whincup with Chaz Mostert also in the hunt for his first Championship along with a third Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen. Just 189 points separates the top five.

After starting from position two and getting a great start by co-driver Paul Dumbrell, Whincup led until McLaughlin pitted earlier than the race leaders and had enough pace and just enough fuel to hold on and win the race.

McLaughlin had to push his car down pit lane after it ran out of fuel during his victory burnout.

“I don’t mind pushing my car if it’s pushing it into victory lane,” McLaughlin said.

“Alex Premat drove an unbelievable drive in the first stint. He set us up. Oh my God this is so good after Bathurst.”

Shane van Gisbergen and co-driver Matt Campbell started from pole position in front of teammates Whincup and Craig Lowndes before the defending champion finished third. Lowndes finished fourth. It was young Queenslander Campbell’s first ever podium finish in Supercars.

“Pretty decent day. Us three at the front it was really good, and then Scotty came through and congratulations to them they pulled a great strategy,” van Gisbergen said.

“Obviously got good fuel economy, so we’ve got a bit to work on.”

Ford fans had double reason to celebrate this afternoon with Chaz Mostert and co-driver Steve Owen claiming the PIRTEK Enduro Cup for 2017 with a seventh placing today.

Co-Driver Premat (L) and McLaughlin
Co-Driver Premat (L) and McLaughlin
The Supercheap Auto Racing Team duo won yesterday’s opening 300km race and today leapfrogged their Prodrive Racing teammates, Cam Waters and Richie Stanaway who suffered major damage in a collision early in the race and could only manage a 21st placing.

It's the first time a Ford team has ever won the PIRTEK Enduro Cup.

McLaughlin’s co-driver Alex Premat, who spun out early in the wet conditions yesterday, forced his way through the pack today after starting in the middle of the field. He made up a number of positions before handing over to the young kiwi.

Premat won last year’s PIRTEK Enduro Cup alongside Shane van Gisbergen with the Red Bull Holden Racing Team and today celebrated his first race victory with the Shell Ford Team.

The next event on the calendar is the ITM Auckland SuperSprint which will be held from 3-5 November at Pukekohe Park Raceway.

MCLAUGHLIN QUOTE: “What a finish – I don’t mind pushing my car if it’s pushing it into Victory Lane! Thanks to everyone at Shell V-Power Racing, this is such a good way to come back after Bathurst. Alex did an incredible job in that opening stint, he saved our day with that drive. Thanks so much to him, what a great way to finish the Pirtek Enduro Cup!”

PREMAT QUOTE: “It was a good start, the car felt good after the first few laps. I love this track, and it kept getting better and better. The tactic was to push hard, pass cars and get the car as far to the front as I could. I felt like it was a really good base for Scott to then push really hard. I’m so pumped for Scotty and his Championship, I’m very happy and looking forward to next year.”


1 17 McLaughlin / A. Premat Shell V-Power Racing Team +0.000s 150
2 88 Whincup / P. Dumbrell Red Bull Holden Racing Australia +1.475 138
3 97 Van Gisbergen / M. Campbell Red Bull Holden Racing Australia +2.517 129
4 888 Lowndes / S. Richards Team Vortex +21.049 120
5 5 Winterbottom / D. Canto Prodrive Racing +25.817 111
6 22 Courtney / J. Perkins Mobil 1 HSV Racing +28.438 102
7 55 Mostert / S. Owen Supercheap Auto Racing +31.441 96
8 18 Holdsworth / K. Reindler Preston Hire Racing +31.583 90
9 12 Coulthard / T. D'Alberto Shell V-Power Racing Team +32.000 84
10 8 Percat / M. Jones Brad Jones Racing +44.553 78
11 15 R. Kelly / Wall Nissan Motorsport +52.562 72
12 7 T. Kelly / J. Le Brocq Nissan Motorsport +53.511 69
13 02 S. Pye / W. Luff Mobil 1 HSV Racing +1:01.129 66
14 19 Davison / J. Webb TEKNO Woodstock Racing +1:02.254 63
15 23 Caruso / D. Fiore Nissan Nismo +1:09.966 60
16 56 Bright / G. Jacobson MEGA Racing +1 Lap 57
17 33 Tander / J. Golding Wilson Security Racing GRM +1 Lap 54
18 99 Wood / C. Pither Erebus Motorsport +1 Lap 51
19 34 Moffat / R. Muscat Wilson Security Racing GRM +1 Lap 48
20 21 Blanchard / T. Hazelwood CoolDrive Racing +1 Lap 45
21 6 C. Waters / R. Stanaway Prodrive Racing +2 Laps 42
22 78 S. De Silvestro / D. Russell Nissan Nismo +17 Laps 39
23 14 Slade / Heimgartner Brad Jones Racing +17 Laps 36
DNF 62 A. Rullo / A. Davison LD Motorsport +82 Laps 0
DNF 9 Reynolds / L. Youlden Erebus Motorsport +87 Laps 0
DNF 3 A. Russell / T. Douglas LD Motorsport +94 Laps 0



Jamie Whincup



Fabian Coulthard     



Scott McLaughlin             



Chaz Mostert             



Shane van Gisbergen



Craig Lowndes           



Mark Winterbottom             



Cameron Waters             



David Reynolds                       



Garth Tander




Shell V-Power Racing Team



Triple Eight Race Engineering (Whincup/Van Gisbergen)



Prodrive Racing Australia (Winterbottom/Waters)



Garry Rogers Motorsport     



Erebus Motorsport



Walkinshaw Racing



Nissan Motorsport (R. Kelly/T. Kelly)                   



Brad Jones Racing



Prodrive Racing Australia (Mostert)     



Nissan NISMO (Caruso/De Silvestro)


Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article