for your iPhone
for your iPad


Purebred racing bikes
240 HP

140 HP
Production Based

55 HP
Production Based
Riders 25 years or less

Point Standings
2014 After Qatar

Will start after first race
Marquez crashes out of lead handing win to Vinales

Gran Premio Motul de la Republica Argentina
Sunday, April 9, 2017


Maverick Vinales leads
Maverick Vinales leads
MotoGP has a tendency to keep making history of late, and the Gran Premio Motul de la Republica Argentina was no different - as Maverick Vinales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) became the first Yamaha rider since Wayne Rainey in 1990 to win the first two races of the year, taking a stunning win as drama hit the grid behind. Teammate Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) created another miracle in P2, with LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow completing the podium in style as top Independent Team rider.

It was reigning Champion Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) who leapt into the lead from pole, with Rossi another electric starter from seventh on the grid. In the rush for Turn 1, it was Marquez leading Crutchlow as the pack shuffled behind, with the reigning Champion then making a stunning break for it as the Brit backed up the chasing Movistar Yamaha MotoGP pairing of Vinales and Rossi.

Vinales soon attacked Crutchlow to take P2, before the first of the high drama hit up ahead and Marquez suddenly hit the floor at Turn 2 – having been almost two seconds clear.

That left Vinales in P1, with Crutchlow and Rossi on the chase and the gap holding steady just above half a second - before the man of the moment began to pull away. The ‘Doctor’ was left to hunt down Crutchlow, with the two holding station until Rossi struck with 7 laps to go, getting past the Brit in style at Turn 5 and pulling away for a second consecutive podium – in his 350th World Championship start.

There was all-out war for P4 as Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) battled to get past Danilo Petrucci (Octo Pramac Racing), with Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3), Alvaro Bautista (Pull&Bear Aspar Team) and Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) getting in the mix. After a short and spectacular duel between Pedrosa and Zarco, the Spaniard broke free to set the fastest lap – before disaster struck for the ‘Baby Samurai’ as he crashed out of the race in the same place as teammate Marquez had done a handful of laps earlier.

Even then, the drama wasn’t done as ‘DesmoDovi’ went wide at Turn 5 soon after, with Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) taking the inside line and then losing the front – sliding helplessly into the Italian and both out the race.

Behind and including Crutchlow, it was another fantastic day for the Independent Teams as the dust settled, with Bautista taking fourth and Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Zarco and Jonas Folger taking fifth and sixth. Petrucci, after running out of rear grip, crossed the line in a solid P7 – ahead of a good fight back from his teammate Scott Redding at the head of the next group.

Jack Miller (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) enjoyed another top ten result in ninth behind Redding, with front row starter Karel Abraham (Pull&Bear Aspar Team) completing the top ten only tenths ahead of Loris Baz (Reale Avintia Racing) after the Frenchman was forced wide early on.

Tito Rabat (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) was P12 in front of Hector Barbera (Reale Avintia Racing), with Red Bull KTM Factory Racing pairing Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith incredibly close to the two men ahead in P14 and P15 respectively. The Austrian manufacturer is now a points scorer with both riders, opening their account early in only round two.

After a great start from a difficult grid position, it was disaster for Ducati Team’s Jorge Lorenzo on the first lap as the five-time World Champion crashed out early after contact with old nemesis Andrea Iannone (Team Suzuki Ecstar) – the ‘Spartan’ thankfully escaping unhurt, and Iannone continuing. The ‘Maniac’ was also given a ride through penalty soon after for a jump start, dropping him down the order and out of contention to cross the line as the final finisher.


1VINALES Maverick25SPA25Movistar Yamaha MotoGPYamaha41'45.060
2ROSSI Valentino46ITA20Movistar Yamaha MotoGPYamaha2.915
3CRUTCHLOW Cal35GBR16LCR HondaHonda3.754
4BAUTISTA Alvaro19SPA13Pull&Bear Aspar TeamDucati6.523
5ZARCO Johann5FRA11Monster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha15.504
6FOLGER Jonas94GER10Monster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha18.241
7PETRUCCI Danilo9ITA9Octo Pramac RacingDucati20.046
8REDDING Scott45GBR8Octo Pramac RacingDucati25.480
9MILLER Jack43AUS7Team EG 0,0 Marc VDSHonda25.665
10ABRAHAM Karel17CZE6Pull&Bear Aspar TeamDucati26.403
11BAZ Loris76FRA5Reale Avintia RacingDucati26.952
12RABAT Tito53SPA4Team EG 0,0 Marc VDSHonda41.875
13BARBERA Hector8SPA3Reale Avintia RacingDucati42.770
14ESPARGARO Pol44SPA2Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM43.085
15SMITH Bradley38GBR1Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM43.452
16IANNONE Andrea29ITA0Team Suzuki EcstarSuzuki46.219
17DOVIZIOSO Andrea4ITA0Ducati TeamDucati11 laps
18ESPARGARO Aleix41SPA0Aprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia11 laps
19PEDROSA Dani26SPA0Repsol Honda TeamHonda12 laps
20LOWES Sam22GBR0Aprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia14 laps
21RINS Alex42SPA0Team Suzuki EcstarSuzuki14 laps
22MARQUEZ Marc93SPA0Repsol Honda TeamHonda22 laps
23LORENZO Jorge99SPA0Ducati TeamDucati 

Rider Standings

1VINALES Maverick 25SPA50Movistar Yamaha MotoGPYamaha
2ROSSI Valentino 46ITA36Movistar Yamaha MotoGPYamaha
3DOVIZIOSO Andrea 4ITA20Ducati TeamDucati
4REDDING Scott 45GBR17Octo Pramac RacingDucati
5CRUTCHLOW Cal 35GBR16LCR HondaHonda
6FOLGER Jonas 94GER16Monster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha
7MILLER Jack 43AUS15Team EG 0,0 Marc VDSHonda
8BAUTISTA Alvaro 19SPA13Pull&Bear Aspar TeamDucati
9MARQUEZ Marc 93SPA13Repsol Honda TeamHonda
10ZARCO Johann 5FRA11Monster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha
11PEDROSA Dani 26SPA11Repsol Honda TeamHonda
12ESPARGARO Aleix 41SPA10Aprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia
13PETRUCCI Danilo 9ITA9Octo Pramac RacingDucati
14BAZ Loris 76FRA9Reale Avintia RacingDucati
15ABRAHAM Karel 17CZE8Pull&Bear Aspar TeamDucati
16RINS Alex 42SPA7Team Suzuki EcstarSuzuki
17BARBERA Hector 8SPA6Reale Avintia RacingDucati
18LORENZO Jorge 99SPA5Ducati TeamDucati
19RABAT Tito 53SPA5Team EG 0,0 Marc VDSHonda
20ESPARGARO Pol 44SPA2Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM
21SMITH Bradley 38GBR1Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article