Latest News and Commentary

FIA announces World Motor Sport Council decisions
  World Council ratifies LMP1 tech freeze
The FIA held its last World Motor Sport Council of the year today as part of its Annual General Assembly and Prize Giving week in Vienna. During the meeting, the following decisions were taken:
FIA Formula One World Championship Calendar
FIA Formula 3 European Championship Calendar
FIA Formula 3 World Cup Calendar
FIA Formula E Championship Calendar
FIA World Endurance Championship Calendar
Da Costa beats Rosenqvist in Macau
  Takes his 2nd Macau GP title
Antonio Felix da Costa produced a brilliant performance to take his second victory in the 63rd Suncity Group Formula Three Macau Grand Prix - FIA F3 World Cup on Sunday. The Carlin driver initially lost the lead from pole position to teammate Sergio Sette Camara, but capitalized at a Safety Car restart on lap seven to retake the top spot and then hold on for victory. Felix Rosenqvist was gunning for an historic three-peat, but had to settle for 2nd after starting 6th. Sergio Camara rounded out the podium.
Makishima and Shawhan Win in Rainy USTCC at Sonoma
  by Ali Arsham
Doug Makishima won the Super Touring class of the United States Touring Car Championship (USTCC) at Sonoma while Michael Shawhan won the Touring class.  Larry Bani won the Sportsman class and Daniel Akhromtsev won the GT battle. It was a very wet weekend as huge puddles from sudden downpours made driving treacherous.
VW Andretti Rallycross Secures Championship Lockout
  In Los Angeles
Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross capped off a magnificent 2016 Red Bull Global Rallycross season in Los Angeles, helping driver Scott Speed to a second consecutive Driver's Championship, and locking out the top two positions in the championship with Tanner Foust's second place showing. The final Driver's Championship standings were the latest in a litany of success for Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross. 
O'Connell, Fuentes and Fergus Score PWC poles
  Pirelli World Challenge
Johnny O'Connell

SALINAS, Calif. -- Johnny O'Connell, Martin Fuentes and Corey Fergus scored the poles for GT/GTA Round 20 and GT Cup Round 19 part of the Pirelli World Challenge Championship Finale Weekend presented by Nissan at MRLS. The 45-minute segment was held under sunny, breezy 71-degree weather conditions. GTA and GT Cup competitors took to the track first for their 20-minute session.

Stroll is first North-American to win the European F3 title
  Young Canadian on his way to F1
So far, the laurels of the FIA Formula 3 European Champion often remained in Europe, with only few drivers from a different continent being able to win. Thanks to Canadian Lance Stroll (Prema Powerteam), North-America is now on the winners’ list as well as he wrapped up an early 2016 FIA Formula 3 European Championship title at Imola. The 17-year-old development driver of the Williams Formula 1 team was the dominant driver this season and already scored his third title in car racing.
Heitkotter Doubles Up in Utah
  Pirelli World Challenge
Bryan Heitkotter of Fresno, Calif., drove to a dominating second Pirelli World Challenge GT Class win Sunday at Utah Motorsports Campus with a 1.375-second victory in his No. 05 Always Evolving Replay XD Nissan GT Academy Nissan GT-R GT3 sports car. Heitkotter, 35, led every lap in the two GT features this weekend in the PWC Grand Prix presented by Energy Solutions. Heitkotter won his first PWC GT main event on Saturday.
A Week in the Life of a Short Track Racer
  by Stephen Cox
Last season was a dream year. Seven starts produced three poles, a track record, five podiums and three wins. This year not so much. My car caught fire in a well-publicized road race at Circuit of the Americas, burning the team's Porsche to the ground and sending me to intensive care. Driving for NASCAR's Rohrbaugh Racing at Midvale Speedway in June, we set a new track record and won the pole but went home a disappointing second place after a controversial finish.
Speed wins D.C. GRC Race
  by Brian Carroccio

Scott Speed completed a dominant weekend in winning today's Washington D.C. Red Bull Global Rallycross race. The reigning series champion drove the No. 41 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Beetle to the lead in the first turn and led the entire way. Bryan Herta Rallysport's Patrik Sandell was second with Tanner Foust placing the sister Andretti Beetle on the final podium spot after an entertaining scrap with Brian Deegan. 

We Preview Red Bull Global Rallycross Washington D.C.
  by Brian Carroccio

The Red Bull Global Rallycross Series descends upon Washington, D.C this weekend for round 7 of the 2016 championship. It will be the third consecutive year the series has visited the nation’s capital. Last year, Nelson Piquet took the checkered flag in the race’s main event with Patrik Sandell coming home second, the reverse order of how the two finished in 2014. This weekend one of the headline stories is Piquet, as the inaugural FIA Formula E champion makes his first GRC start of 2016, replacing Jeff Ward at SH Rallycross. 

A Pro-Racer Driven To Make Tracks Safer
  By Richard RJ Valentine
In my 40 years as a pro-racer, there have been memorable highlights and multiple finishes, but there have also been serious injuries.  Same can be said for many other drivers but, in some cases, they lost their racing career and in others, their life. I have always contended that it's impossible to understand how critical track safety is, unless you've personally been behind the wheel, racing at 100+ miles per hour, knowing you could hit a wall that might maim or kill you. The bottom line is track operators aren't the ones risking their lives in the driver's seat. 
Di Grassi extends championship lead with Paris victory
  Formula E
Lucas di Grassi has extended his lead in the FIA Formula E Championship with a flawless drive in the Visa Paris ePrix. The Abt Schaeffler driver sprung off the line to take the lead at the start. Aside from two laps during the car swap pitstop phase, he led the entire way. The sell-out event crowd of 20,000 was denied the grandstand finish the race deserved when series debutant Ma Qing Hua crashed heavily in the closing stages. The Chinese racer was unhurt.
Article Archives