Go to AutoRacing1's Home PageGo to AutoRacing 1's Champ Car PageGo to AutoRacing1's NASCAR PageGo to AutoRacing 1's F1 PageGo to AutoRacing 1's IRL PageGot to AutoRacing1.com's ALMS pageGo to AutoRacing1's Grand-Am PageGo to AutoRacing1's Other Series page
Go to AutoRacing 1's Rumor's PageGo to AutoRacing1's Hot News PageGo to AutoRacing 1's Discussion ForumsGo to AutoRacing1's Racing Store PageGo to AutoRacing 1's Links pageGo to AutoRacing1.com Race Schedule pageGo to AutoRacing 1's Automotive pageContact AutoRacing1.com

Johnson is the $15 million man


Scanner Frequencies

Meet the Staff

2007 Schedule




NASCAR Awards Banquet
November 30, 2007


Jimmie Johnson

NEW YORK, NY – After a season of achievements and memorable competition, the payoff for the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series drivers came Friday in the form of the presentation of the final point fund awards.

NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet) will collect a point fund award of $7,317,499, bringing his 2007 total winnings to $15,313,920. The back-to-back champion has won more than $59.5 million during his NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series career.

In addition to the point fund and his race winnings, Johnson also receives $350,000 for winning four special awards – the Goodyear Gatorback Fastest Lap Award, the Dow Automotive Strategic Call of the Race Award, the Sunoco Diamond Performance Award and the Goodyear Award.

The NASCAR NEXTEL Cup top 10 drivers will share $24,068,732, the largest top 10 point fund payout in series history. Each of the top 10 will receive over $1 million.

Johnson’s Hendrick Motorsports teammate, Jeff Gordon (No. 24 DuPont Chevrolet), finished second in the standings and receives $3,280,915 from the point fund, and $497,150 for winning four special awards – the Budweiser Pole Award, the Checkers/Rally’s Double Drive-Thru Challenge Award, the Commit Lozenges Commit to Win Award and the WIX Filters Lap Leader Award – to go along with his race winnings for a total of $10,926,687. With this payout Gordon, the series’ all-time money leader, has collected $93,300,213 during his career.

The awards ceremony capped off a second consecutive championship for Johnson, who said he enjoyed this trip to New York more than last year's.

"Especially coming as the champion, it's a great experience," Johnson said. "The events they have set up for us, the way the sport honors the champion, it's a great experience. I'm really enjoying this and savoring it more than I did last year.

"Last year, before I knew it, we were packing our bags and heading home. It was over, and I'm like, 'Wow.' There were some things I wish would've taken a little longer and stopped and enjoyed it a little bit more."

In total, more than $32.8 million will be distributed this year from the point fund.

NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Top 10 – Point Awards and Season Totals:


Race winnings

Special Awards

Point Fund


1. Jimmie Johnson





2. Jeff Gordon





3. Clint Bowyer





4. Matt Kenseth





5. Kyle Busch





6. Tony Stewart





7. Kurt Busch





8. Jeff Burton





9. Carl Edwards





10. Kevin Harvick





Feedback can be sent to feedback@autoracing1.com

Go to our forums to discuss this article

Copyright 1999-2014  AutoRacing1 is an independent internet online publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by the IRL., NASCAR, FIA,  Sprint, or any other series sponsor. This material may not be published, broadcast, or redistributed without permission.